A BATTER IS OUT WHEN…


Gets Third Strike


Rule 6.02 (c)
If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire can tell the pitcher to pitch and call a strike on each such pitch.  The batter may take his proper position after each such pitch, and the ball and strike count continues; however, if he does not take his proper position before three strikes are called, he is out.  (If the third strike is not caught, call the batter out).


Rule 6.05 (b)
A batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher.


“Legally caught” means in the catcher’s glove before the ball touches the ground.  It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.


If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher’s glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out.  If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher’s glove or hand first.


Rule 6.05 (c)
A batter is out when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when first base is occupied before two are out.


Rule 6.05 (d)
A batter is out when he bunts foul on third strike.


Rule 6.05 (f)
A batter is out when he attempts to hit a third strike and the ball touches him.


Illegally Bats Ball


Rule 5.09 (d)
The ball becomes dead and runners return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when a ball is illegally batted.


Rule 6.06 (a)
A batter is out for illegal action when he hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside of the batter’s box.


If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter’s box, he shall be called out.  Umpires should pay particular attention to the position of the batter’s feet if he attempts to hit the ball while he is being intentionally passed.  A batter cannot jump or step of the batter’s box and hit the ball.


Changes Batter’s Boxes


Rule 6.06 (b)
A batter is out for illegal action when he steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.

